Every Body Is Beautiful

I was watching a well loved TV series the other day (happens to be about a high school show choir) when I heard some comments that really upset me. There is a particularly overweight lunch lady and as she was talking to her daughter about self image she told her she was “thin and beautiful” and proceeded to enlist her daughter in going on a diet.

Now, obesity is not something to condone or dismiss. It is a serious health issue that should be corrected if possible. However, I am tired of the constricting parameters that America has set for ‘beauty.’ Let me get this out of the way right now, I am not a thin person. I have more meat on my bones then I should and from a medical perspective, I am technically obese. That doesn’t mean I am NOT beautiful. 

It has taken years for me to accept my body type and to rid myself of the blinders that have been strapped on by society. Society contradicts itself all the time. There are people that tell you to accept yourself just as you are and then turn around and tell you to drop a few pounds. I have had experiences with close friends and family that have torn me apart time and time again. That extra layer of armor that I have acquired will help me later in life and, dear reader, please let it help you. Use the verbal weapons to make you stronger but be wary of hardening your heart against anyone.

Every body type is gorgeous. It doesn’t matter if you are thin, overweight, slightly awkward, hourglass, muscular, pudgy-YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL (or handsome.) You probably won’t be able to change how you see everyone immediately; it’ll definitely be a work in progress, but the result is worth the wait and the effort. 

Confidence is one of the most attractive things you can wear. No outfit is ever complete without a smile. Limiting your standards of beauty is ignorant. Ignorant doesn’t become idiotic until you recognize your mistake yet refuse to change. Learning to accept others as they are, not just acceptance, loving others as they are, will open up so many more doors in the world for you. Learning to be proud of yourself and how you look will change your appearance to others. Find what makes you feel beautiful and embrace it fully!

Keep Your Head High and Heart Open,

Sarah ❤

One thought on “Every Body Is Beautiful

Leave a Reply

